Dennis F. Hernandez, Member

 Dennis F. Hernandez was appointed on January 22, 2015 following nomination by 1st District Supervisor Hilda L. Solis.  He is an experienced attorney and litigator having held many legal positions in both the public and private sectors.  He is a member of the Los Angeles County Bar Association, Mexican American Bar Association, and Hispanic National Bar Association.

Naomi Nightingale, Member

Naomi Nightingale was appointed on September 2, 2014 following nomination by 2nd District Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas. She retired after serving 28 years in the public transportation industry, She formally managed the district operations of then CA State Senator, Diane E. Watson, She manages her consultant firm, Nightingale & Associates and is very active in her community. Her term expires September 10, 2019.


Steven Afriat, President

Steven Afriat was appointed on February 10, 2015 upon being nominated by 3rd District Supervisor, Sheila Kuehl.  Prior to this appointment, he served 19 years on the Business License Commission, 15 years as President.  He also serves as a Public Member of the California Dental Board, appointed by the California State Assembly Speaker.


John Donner, Member

John Donner was appointed following nomination by 4th District Supervisor, Don Knabe, on January 7, 2014. He is retired from AT&T Corporation. Donner serves on the 211 LA County Board of Directors and Los Angeles County Library Foundation Board of Directors. His term expires January 7, 2018.


Z. Greg Kahwajian, Member

Z. Greg Kahwajian was initially appointed following nomination by Supervisor Michael D. Antonovich on June 2, 1998. He manages his own consulting firm. Previously, he served as a Special Assistant to the 35th Governor of California, George Deukmejian.

County Charter, Article IX and Chapter 6.98 of the Los Angeles County Code. 
By Board of Supervisors. 
Each member of the Commission shall be appointed for a four-year term and shall serve until a successor is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy on the Commission shall be filled by the Board of Supervisors for a full four-year term beginning on the date of appointment. Each member shall be an elector of the County. The Board of Supervisors by a four-fifths vote of all the members may remove a member of the Commission during his or her term of office, but only upon stating in writing the reasons for such removal and allowing such member an opportunity to be publicly heard in his or her own defense. 

For each day during which he attends an official meeting of the Civil Service Commission, each Commissioner shall be entitled to receive compensation at the rate of $150 per day, not to exceed sixty-five days in each fiscal year. A Civil Service Commissioner shall receive no compensation for service as a hearing  officer; service on a hearing board; or for preparing a written report based on such hearing. 
Wednesday of each week at 9:30 a.m. in Room 522, Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Los Angeles, 90012. 
To serve as an appellate body for appeal of allegations of political discrimination and for discrimination based on race, sex, color, national origin, religious opinions or affiliations or handicap made by County employees regardless of status, and by applicants for employment, and discharges and reductions of permanent employees.


Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration
500 W. Temple Street Los Angeles, CA 90012


Phone: (213) 974-2411  

Email Address

Office Hours: 8 AM to 5 PM
You may also e-mail your questions or comments to:csc@bos.lacounty.gov